|
|
|||
|
The Four Stages of Research |
|||
|
Stage 1: PREPARE
|
Stage 2: ACCESS
|
Stage 3: PROCESS
|
Stage 4: TRANSFER
|
C.E.C.I. Library Home Page--borrowed with permission from Tara Gonder
| VISUAL ART | DRAMA | MUSIC |
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: National Gallery of Canada: Explore the collections Art Gallery of Ontario: See the collections The McMichael Collection: See and research Canadian works of art The Louvre: Explore the site by following the links The Tate Modern: Explore the collection and research following the links Museum of Modern Art: Explore artits and collections by clicking on the "education" link Virtual Tour of the Sistine Chapel: Use the + and - signs to zoom in and out Smithsonian Institution: Explore the collections Government of Canada: Links to Canadian art and artists TED Talks - Visual Arts: Educational, inspiring and thought-provoking talks |
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Drama Games: Need some inspiration? Try out these games Stratford Shakespeare Festival: See what's happening at Stratford Theatre History: Links to articles on various eras of theatre Drama eServer: History, plays and playwrights, etc. Canadian Encyclopedia: An overview of the history of theatre in Canada TED Talks - Theater: Educational, inspiring and thought-provoking talks
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Music Theory: Interactive music theory help; click on the various lines to see the theory in action (IPL2) Internet Public Library: Links to information on a variety of musical time periods. Library Thinkquest: Links to pages on vocal, instrumental and composer information for a variety of time periods Concise History of Western Music: Chapters containing essential information on different periods of Western music. PBS American Masters: Brush up on important American musicians TED Talks - Music: Inspiring and thought-provoking talks
|
| ENGLISH | FRENCH |
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Merriam-Webster Online: Vocabulary and word games to expand your language toolkit. TypingWeb.com: Brush up on your keyboarding skills with this free online software. Create an account or not; either way you can practise your skills. ENG 1D Literature Circles: Research help for The Chrysalids, Sarah's Key and To Kill A Mockingbird ENG 3U Othello research aids: read backinground on the people and time CBC Books: Interviews with famous authors (Canadian and international); includes Canada Reads series CBC's The Next Chapter: Hosted by Shelagh Rogers; in-depth radio interviews with authors CBC's Writers and Company: Hosted by Eleanor Wachtel; in-depth radio interviews with authors Purdue OWL: Theories of Literary Criticism Sparknotes: Provides detailed plot synopses and commentary on many of the books you'll study in English No Fear Shakespeare: Provides a side-by-side modern-day "translation" of the most-studied Shakespearean plays Shakespearean Insult Maker: Looking for a new put-down? Try this insult-making machine that even Shakespeare would love TED Talks - Literature: Inspirational and thought-provoking talks Canadian Poets - University of Toronto's Canadian Poetry Online, Wikipedia's List of Canadian Poets |
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Bon Patron: Check your French grammar with this helpful site. Note: Using a translator for large chunks of assignments constitutes plagiarism BBC: Learn French phrases and brush up on usage ieLanguages: Offers a variety of French language links and usages Accent Codes: A breakdown of ALT codes for creating special characters; includes a printable cut-out chart option C'est la vie: The CBC radio program that explores a French word each week. Listen to the 5-minute program to help you explore your vocabulary.
|
| FAMILY STUDIES | HEALTH & PHYSICAL EDUCATION |
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: BBC Science - The Mind: Interactive psychology games and information Child Development Institute: Child Development and Parenting information TED Talks - Psychology: Educational, inspiring and thought-provoking talks TED Talks - Relationships: Educational, inspiring and thought-provoking talks TED Talks - Fashion: Educational, inspiring and thought-provoking talks
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: BBC Science - The Body: Interactive anatomy games and information Sport Canada: Government of Canada links to Canadian sport Canadian Olympic Committee: Follow Canadian olympians and Olympic news TED Talks - Athletics and Athletes: Educational, inspiring and thought-provoking talks
|
| HISTORY | GEOGRAPHY |
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Canadian War Museum: Games and info which offer a uniquely Canadian perspective The War of 1812: Sponsored by the Government of Canada to commemorate the bicentennial Canadiana.ca: A wealth of information on Canadian history, primary documents, Constitutional history, etc. Government of Canada: government of Canada's official Canadian history site Canada's History Online Magazine: Covers selected topics in Canadian history Canada History: A comprehensive view of Canadian History, past and present BBC History: Great videos and interative pages Spartacus Educational: Offers links to pages on many different periods in history CIA World Factbook: Maps, flags and in-depth information on the world's countries; info compiled by the CIA TED Talks - History: Inspirational and educational videos |
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Canadian Atlas Online: Lots of resources, including games, for geography students Canadian Geographic Magazine: Search articles on a variety of subjects Parks Canada: Government of Canada site with information on Canada's National Parks Canadian Association of Geographers: Links to a variety of geographical information and resources CIA World Factbook: Maps, flags and in-depth information on the world's countries; info compiled by the CIA TED Talks - Geogrpahy and Environment: Inspirational and educational videos
|
| SCIENCE | MATHEMATICS, ECONOMICS |
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Khan Academy: Videos and information related to several branches of science Chemicool: Interactive periodic table Virtual Frog Dissection: Videos and information to help with frog dissection Foetal Pig Dissection: Video identifying vital organs during dissection Gizmos: Online simulations CERN - Centre for European Nuclear Research: Find out about the lastest discoveries; click on the "Kids" link for games TED Talks - Science: Inspiring and thought-provoking talks
|
Below are some great resources for homework or enrichment: Online Calculator (version 1): Online Scientific, Graphing, Matrix and Statistics calculators. Online Calculator (version 2) Homework Help: Sign up (free) to access tutors online; sponsored by the Government of Ontario Metric-Imperial Conversion Table: Converting metric to imperial measurements, or vice versa Web Math: Let this program do your calculation and see the work behind the answer Everyday Life Tutorials: Ineractive site for how-tos on bill payment, etc. TED Talks - Economics: Inspiring and thought-provoking talks
|
